About the Journey

This week I had the pleasure of listening to a P&G executive in one of my MBA classes. This executive was in P&G for 23 years, 20 of which he was stationed in Europe running operations overseas. He spoke about his experience, and there is one thing I felt it applied to me: what his 23-year-abroad journey was all about.

It’s been almost 8 months since I arrived in the US. They have been really intense months, lots of work, challenges and sacrifices. The question that came to my mind after the class was: what my this journey about? Is about me getting an MBA? Is it about changing or furthering my career? What is it really about? In answering that question, I feel I can totally relate to P&G’s vision of his own journey: it is about the journey that your family goes through, the moments and growth that together we experience, the memories we collect, the challenges we face, and how close we’re able to become in facing those challenges.

I once was asked what teamwork mean to me. I responded with an example. If I had the opportunity to climb the everest, I would much rather do it with people I care about than by myself. There is no fun in going at it alone. The real joy would come in reaching the summit with your friends, and by doing so, creating that very special bond that enriches and fills up life. So here’s a lesson for you Sofi and Daniel: most of the times (if not always) is not about the destination, is about the journey.

3 thoughts on “About the Journey

  1. Great post! The speaker’s message resonated with me as well. It’s great perspective to remember the difference we can make and the relationships we develop with our families and other people along the way.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great Post, I didn’t get the chance to hear that speech, but i had similar feelings when i arrived from England 6 years ago. I still trying to figure it out, haha

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can definitely relate to teamwork and going through something difficult with people you can trust and rely on. This has made or broken job experiences for me, and has now become perhaps the single greatest factor I consider- does this company encourage team work and mutual support, am I on my own, or are we actively fighting each other?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment